Institute for Figuring, The Crochet Coral Reef
Institute for Figuring, The Crochet Coral Reef

Online creation

THE CROCHET CORAL REEF -THE INSTITUTE FOR FIGURING

As part of "A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades"

From 01 October 2017 to 30 June 2018

Jeu de Paume Online

The Crochet Coral Reef  by the Institute for Figuring is part of the project “A propos du Chthulucène” proposed by Maria Ptqk for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

In Haraway’s opinion, coral reefs are a paradigmatic example of holoents, sympoietic entities whose agents become-with each other, a notion that could replace the biological concept of “individual”. Thus they might be a manifestation of the kind of relational thinking required by the environmental crisis, which is especially evident in the degradation of ocean life. Affected by acidification and the heating of the water, coral reefs – “ocean forests” – also constitute a living expression of hyperbolic geometry and other mathematical models that can be found both in the forms of some marine and plant organisms and in algorithms and generative software.

The Crochet Coral Reef is situated at that intersection between mathematics and marine biology, together with the community textile arts practised by women in the domestic environment. Inspired by the technique of “hyperbolic crochet”, discovered in 1997 by the Latvian mathematician Daina Taimina, this collaborative project presents a taxonomy of the multiple variations of forms created from an initial pattern or algorithm, initiating a public discussion about the future of coral reefs which materialises biological speculation and at the same time reflects on the alliance between diverse practices of knowledge.

The Institute For Figuring

The Institute For Figuring is an organisation devoted to exploring the aesthetic and poetic dimensions of science, mathematics and engineering. Founded in Los Angeles in 2003 by the sisters Christine (poet and writer and member of the Department of Critical Studies at CalArts – California Institute of the Arts) and Margaret Wertheim (science writer specialising in the cultural history of physics), its mission is to increase public knowledge and encourage discussions about science through talks, exhibitions and publications. The Crochet Coral Reef, the organisation’s most large-scale project, is expanding through “satellite reefs”, local nodes that bring together practisers of hyperbolic crochet all over the world.
http://theiff.org/about/about.html

Institute for Figuring, The Crochet Coral Reef
Institute for Figuring, The Crochet Coral Reef

Création en ligne

THE CROCHET CORAL REEF -THE INSTITUTE FOR FIGURING

Dans le cadre de "A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades"

Du 01 octobre 2017 au 30 juin 2018

Jeu de Paume en ligne

The Crochet Coral Reef  de Institute for Figuring fait partie du projet  « A propos du Chthulucène » proposé par Maria Ptqk pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Pour Donna Haraway, les barrières de corail sont un exemple de holo-entités, les entités sympoïétiques dont les agents existent les uns avec les autres et qui pourraient remplacer le concept biologique d’« individu ». Ainsi, elles seraient la manifestation du type de pensée relationnelle nécessaire face à la crise environnementale, particulièrement visible dans la dégradation de la vie marine. Gravement atteintes par l’acidification et le réchauffement des océans, les barrières de corail — véritables « forêts marines » — constituent également une expression vivante de la géométrie hyperbolique et d’autres modèles mathématiques que l’on retrouve chez certains organismes marins et végétaux, tout comme dans les algorithmes ou logiciels génératifs.

The Crochet Coral Reef — une barrière de corail réalisée en crochet — est un projet collectif à la croisée des mathématiques, de la biologie marine, et des arts textiles et communautaires souvent pratiqués par les femmes comme activité domestique. Il s’inspire de la technique du « crochet hyperbolique » découverte en 1997 par Daina Taimina, mathématicienne lettone, et présente une taxonomie des nombreuses variations de formes qui peuvent être créées à partir d’un algorithme ou d’un patron de départ. Il propose ainsi une discussion publique sur l’avenir des coraux qui matérialise la spéculation biologique en réfléchissant en même temps à l’alliance entre différentes pratiques de connaissance.

The Institute For Figuring

The Institute For Figuring est une association dont le but est d’explorer les dimensions esthétiques et poétiques des sciences, des mathématiques et de l’ingénierie. Créée en 2003 à Los Angeles par les sœurs Christine et Margaret Wertheim (respectivement poète, écrivaine et membre du département d’études critiques du California Institute of the Arts, et divulgatrice scientifique spécialisée dans l’histoire culturelle de la physique), l’organisation a pour but de développer les connaissances du grand public et de favoriser les discussions sur les sciences à l’aide de conférences, d’expositions ou de publications. The Crochet Coral Reef est son projet le plus important, il progresse grâce à des « récifs satellites » qui réunissent les amateurs de crochet hyperbolique dans le monde entier.
http://theiff.org/about/about.html