fbpx

Info

Jeu de Paume – Paris is closed. Reopening on 14 February for the exhibition Thomas Demand.

Header img
Romina De Novellis Ex-Pop Festival di Performing Art AlgheroCourtesy Galerie Alberta Pane

Performance

Bella ciao

Performance of the series "La Cultura che Vive" by Romina De Novellis

Le 29 January 2023

From 11am to 7pm

Jeu de Paume Paris

The artist Romina De Novellis (Naples, 1982) revisits major works of arte povera from an ecofeminist perspective. She proposes to reinterpret and update certain themes and motifs of arte povera, in order to rethink, in resonance with this current, the relations between genders and between all living beings.

Bella ciao, 2016

It was not until the 16th century that potatoes arrived in Europe from South America. This (highly nutritious and abundant) vegetable literally fills the room where the artist will sit motionless for an entire day. In his installation Patate, Giuseppe Penone gives his potatoes an anthropomorphic form by forcing them to develop in moulds made from his own face. For De Novellis, the potatoes symbolise partisans who resist. The artist is thus surrounded by these activists in what looks like a living still life. This performance also reminds us of our belonging to the kingdom of life and the tuber seems to want to speak to us about the resilience of the planet Earth. At the end of the performance, the potatoes will be donated to associations and distributed to people in need.

LA CULTURA CHE VIVE, A SERIES OF PERFORMANCES

The artist Romina De Novellis revisits major works of arte povera in an ecofeminist perspective. She proposes to reinterpret and update certain themes and motifs of arte povera, in order to rethink, in resonance with this current, the relations between genders and between all living beings. Thus, consumerism, inequalities, the weight of the past and the resistance of living beings are all palpable concerns in her performances where the body of the female artist comes into play. In doing so, Romina De Novellis imagines a series of actions in resonance with the militant attitude and the use of simple materials of arte povera.

The proof is in the title, a tribute to the Italian artist and writer Ketty La Rocca, inspired by her collage, La cultura che non vive, created in 1964. The actions of Romina De Novellis reinvest certain attitudes of arte povera, with an affirmation of the female body, in an openly ecofeminist gesture. A way to remind that arte is a feminine word in Italian.

biography

Romina De Novellis (1982) is a performer, visual artist and researcher, born in Naples, raised in Rome and living in Paris since 2008. Trained as a dancer, she studies the body from an anthropological perspective through the prism of Mediterranean cultures.

The artist uses ecofeminist theories as a parameter to analyze and denounce the oppressive realities of our societies and the dichotomies of nature-humanity, femininity-masculinity, north-south, scientific-intuitive, power-body, establishment-counter-culture. Her intention is to highlight the reappropriation of feminine traits by women and men, in order to challenge dominant models.

Her works have been presented in many contexts, including MAC – VAL in Ivry-sur -Seine, Ca’ Pesaro International Modern and Contemporary Art in Venice, MADRE Museum in Naples, Poznan Biennial in Poland, Armory Show in New York, Villa Datris Foundation, Espace Louis Vuitton, Palais de Tokyo, Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature in Paris, among others.

In 2019, Romina De Novellis initiated an artist and researcher residency project called Domus Artist Residency, based in Galatina, Italy.

Romina De Novellis is represented by Galerie Alberta Pane – Paris/Venice.

practical information

In the exhibition rooms, free on presentation of the Jeu de Paume entrance ticket.

Performances organised at the invitation of Marta Ponsa, head of artistic projects.

fbpx

Fermé

Le Jeu de Paume – Paris est actuellement fermé. Découvrez l’exposition Renverser ses yeux. Autour de l’arte povera dès le 11 octobre.

Performance

Bella ciao

Performance de la série « La Cultura che Vive » par Romina De Novellis

Le 29 janvier 2023

De 11h à 19h

Jeu de Paume - Paris

L’artiste Romina De Novellis (Naples, 1982) revisite des œuvres majeures de l’arte povera dans une perspective écoféministe. Elle propose de réinterpréter et d’actualiser certains thèmes et motifs de l’arte povera, afin de repenser, en résonance avec ce courant, les relations entre les genres et entre tous les êtres vivants.

Bella ciao, 2016

Ce n’est qu’au XVIe siècle que les pommes de terre arrivent en Europe depuis l’Amérique du Sud. Ce légume (très nutritif et abondant) remplit littéralement la salle où l’artiste sera assise et immobile pendant toute une journée. Dans son installation Patate, Giuseppe Penone donne une forme anthropomorphique à ses pommes de terre, en les contraignant à se développer dans des moules réalisés sur son propre visage. Pour De Novellis, les patates symbolisent des partisans qui résistent. L’artiste est donc entourée par ces militants dans ce qui ressemble à une nature morte vivante. Cette performance nous rappelle aussi notre appartenance au règne du vivant et le tubercule semble vouloir nous parler du pouvoir de résilience de la planète Terre. À la fin de la performance, les pommes de terre seront données à des associations et distribuées aux personnes ayant besoin.

LA CULTURA CHE VIVE, UNE SÉRIE DE PERFORMANCES

L’artiste Romina De Novellis revisite des œuvres majeures de l’arte povera dans une perspective écoféministe. Elle propose de réinterpréter et d’actualiser certains thèmes et motifs de l’arte povera, afin de repenser, en résonance avec ce courant, les relations entre les genres et entre tous les êtres vivants.  Ainsi, le consumérisme, les inégalités, le poids du passé et la résistance des êtres vivants sont autant de préoccupations palpables dans ses performances où le corps de l’artiste femme entre en jeu. Ce faisant, Romina De Novellis imagine une série d’actions en résonance avec l’attitude militante et l’utilisation de matériaux simples de l’arte povera.

La preuve avec ce titre en forme d’hommage à l’artiste et écrivaine italienne Ketty La Rocca, inspiré de son collage, La cultura che non vive, réalisé en 1964. Les actions de Romina De Novellis réinvestissent certaines attitudes de l’arte povera, avec une affirmation du corps féminin, dans un geste ouvertement écoféministe. Une manière de rappeler que arte est un mot féminin en italien.

biographie

Romina De Novellis (1982) est une performeuse, artiste visuelle et chercheuse, née à Naples, ayant grandi à Rome et résidant à Paris depuis 2008. Avec une formation de danseuse, elle étudie le corps d’un point de vue anthropologique à travers le prisme des cultures méditerranéennes.

L’artiste utilise les théories écoféministes comme paramètre pour analyser et dénoncer les réalités oppressives de nos sociétés et les dichotomies nature-humanité, féminité-masculinité, nord-sud, scientifique-intuitif, pouvoir-corps, establishment- contre-culture. Son intention est de mettre en évidence la réappropriation des traits féminins par les femmes et les hommes, afin de remettre en question les modèles dominants.

Ses œuvres ont été présentées dans de nombreux contextes, dont le MAC – VAL à Ivry-sur -Seine, la Ca’ Pesaro International internationale d’art moderne et contemporain à Venise, le musée MADRE à Naples, la Biennale de Poznan en Pologne, l’Armory Show à New York, la Fondation Villa Datris, l’Espace Louis Vuitton, le Palais de Tokyo, le Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature à Paris, entre autres.

En 2019, Romina De Novellis a initié un projet de résidence d’artistes et chercheurs appelé Domus Artist Residency, basé à Galatina, en Italie.

Romina De Novellis est représentée par la Galerie Alberta Pane – Paris/Venise.

infos pratiques

Dans les salles de l’exposition, gratuit sur présentation du billet d’entrée au Jeu de Paume.

Performances organisées sur une invitation de Marta Ponsa, responsable des projets artistiques.