Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

Online creation

CYCLISATIONS - OLAF HOCHHERZ

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

Cyclisations by Olaf Hochherz is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

The materiality of the book has been often debated and even fetishised by book lovers, as a distinctive trait of the medium, proving its unique sensorial experience. These universal characteristics can be interpreted also from a different perspective, equally physical, but more elaborated, like the acoustic one. Olaf Hochherz is a sound artist whose work is associating cultural fields using sounds as bridges between them, with their own « language ». In Cyclisations he’s taking his previous experiments with book’s acoustic feedback on a further level of exploration. He’s skilfully integrating the acoustic feedback of books (used as filters) on conceptually stratified levels. The concept of « feedback » is explored through the manipulation and use of books but then integrated in the live enunciation by the cybernetic theoretician Stafford Beer and embedded in the sound pieces. Hochherz refers to cybernetic theories, questioning the dreamed « feedback » system they were investigating through his own practice, which, on the opposite, takes feedback under control. The book physicality becomes then a starting point, with the sound integration of its content in various coherent forms, and coalesces a virtual representation closely describing it without showing even a single page.

Olaf Hochherz

Olaf Hochherz is a sound artist, performing with self-build electronic instruments and computer programs. He develops installations, performance installations and pieces for CD. He is interested in the conjunction of the instability and associative capacity of sounds: « I didn’t try to make an electronic device, which is controllable in the same way as a classical acoustic instrument, instead I work with the abstraction of the electronics. In my playing I do not control a technical apparatus, but create an associative field. The sounds have their own live. The playing tries to keep them alive. »
He presented his electronic compositions at different Festivals. His installations could be realized in Kassel, Taichung, Taipei and Shanghai. He toured with his performances throughout Central Europe and East Asia.
http://hochherz.klingt.org


Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (1) in /home/jeudepaume/sites/prod/www/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5275

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (1) in /home/jeudepaume/sites/prod/www/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5275

Création en ligne

CYCLISATIONS - OLAF HOCHHERZ

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

Cyclisations de Olaf Hochherz fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

La matérialité du livre a souvent été commentée, voire fétichisée par ses inconditionnels. Ils y voient un trait distinctif de ce médium, la source d’une expérience sensorielle unique. Cette caractéristique universelle peut aussi être interprétée depuis une perspective différente, tout aussi physique, mais plus élaborée, comme celle de l’acoustique. Olaf Hochherz est un artiste sonore qui cherche à relier entre eux des champs culturels en prenant comme passerelles les sons et leur « langage » propre. Dans Cyclisations, il pousse plus loin ses expériences antérieures sur la « réponse acoustique » du livre. Il intègre avec talent cette réponse acoustique des livres (utilisés comme filtres) dans un empilement de strates conceptuelles. La notion de « réponse » est explorée à travers la manipulation et l’utilisation des livres, mais est ensuite intégrée dans une lecture de vive voix par le théoricien de la cybernétique Stafford Beer et incorporée aux pièces sonores. Inspiré par les théories cybernétiques, Hochherz interroge par sa propre pratique le système de
« réponse » rêvé présenté par celles-ci, mais en pliant cette « réponse » à sa volonté. La dimension physique du livre devient ainsi un point de départ (l’intégration de son contenu prenant diverses formes cohérentes) et donne lieu à une représentation virtuelle qui le décrit avec précision sans même en montrer une seule page.

Olaf Hochherz

Olaf Hochherz est un artiste sonore qui s’exprime à l’aide d’instruments électroniques et de programmes informatiques de sa conception. Il est l’auteur d’installations, de performances et de morceaux pour CD. Il s’intéresse au lien entre l’instabilité et la capacité associative des sons : « J’ai n’ai pas cherché à faire un dispositif électronique que l’on pourrait maîtriser comme un instrument acoustique classique. J’ai plutôt travaillé sur l’abstraction de l’électronique. Quand je joue, je ne pilote pas un appareillage technique, je crée un champ associatif. Les sons ont leur propre vie. Mon action consiste à les maintenir en vie. »
Il a fait entendre ses compositions électroniques dans différents festivals. Ses installations ont été accueillies à Kassel, Taichung, Taipei et Shanghai. Il a présenté ses performances dans toute l’Europe centrale et l’Asie orientale.
http://hochherz.klingt.org