Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

KindleGlitcher, © Benjamin Gaulon, 2012
KindleGlitcher, © Benjamin Gaulon, 2012

Online creation

KINDLEGLITCHER - BENJAMIN GAULON AKA RECYCLISM

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

KindleGlitcher by Benjamin Gaulon is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

Benjamin Gaulon often engages his practice with the metaphorical and aesthetic malfunction of technologies, either accidental or deliberate. Although this part of his work has been ascribed to the realm of the so-called « glitch art » (visual art generated by software errors), he has gone beyond the usual software-only based strategies, involving custom hardware and symbolic acts.

Stemming from some of his previous works (including « Corrupt.video » the voluntary deterioration of a personal digital movie and « KindleGlitched » a series of ultimately crashed Kindles), « KindleGlitcher » purposely partial damages e-books.
It’s an online tool allowing anybody to upload his own e-books and having then a shared visually damaged copy. The type of information, which is randomly (and not entirely) destroyed, is a specific one. It’s a « flowing » text, which can be changed in size anytime, and what is then destroyed is one of the content possible renderings (not really « universal » in its form as a printed page, but ultimately becoming similarly unchangeable).

This is a new artwork commissioned by Jeu de Paume especially for this online exhibition.

Benjamin Gaulon

Benjamin Gaulon is a French artist but also researcher, lecturer and art consultant living in Dublin. He is currently leading D.A.T.A. (Dublin Art and Technology Association), he is a member of the Graffiti Research Lab France, co-founder of the Irish Museum of Contemporary Art and lecturer at the National College of Art and Design in Dublin. In 2011 he has created the Recyclism Hacklab where he leads regular Mentoring Session to support the Hacklab members in their research. Benjamin Gaulon’s research focuses on the limits and failures of information and communication technologies, on planned obsolescence, consumerism and disposable society, through the exploration of détournement, hacking and recycling. Since 2005 he has been leading workshops and giving lectures on these themes.
http://www.recyclism.com/

fbpx

Fermé

Le Jeu de Paume – Paris est actuellement fermé. Découvrez l’exposition Renverser ses yeux. Autour de l’arte povera dès le 11 octobre.

KindleGlitcher, © Benjamin Gaulon, 2012
KindleGlitcher, © Benjamin Gaulon, 2012

Création en ligne

KINDLEGLITCHER - BENJAMIN GAULON AKA RECYCLISM

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

KindleGlitcher de Benjamin Gaulon fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Benjamin Gaulon nourrit souvent sa pratique du dysfonctionnement — métaphorique et esthétique — des technologies, qu’il soit accidentel ou voulu. Ce pan de son travail a été rangé dans le domaine du « glitch art » (art visuel généré par des erreurs informatiques), mais l’artiste est allé au-delà des stratégies habituelles basées sur les seuls logiciels pour faire appel à des matériels personnalisés et à des actes symboliques.

Issu de certains de ses travaux antérieurs (dont Corrupt.video, détérioration volontaire d’un film numérique personnel, et KindleGlitched, série de Kindle hors service), KindleGlitcher inflige volontairement des dégradations partielles à des livres numériques.
Il s’agit d’un outil en ligne qui permet à quiconque de mettre en ligne ses propres livres et d’obtenir ensuite une copie visuellement endommagée et partielle. Le type d’informations détruites aléatoirement (mais pas entièrement) est bien défini. Il s’agit d’un texte « fluide » dont il est possible de changer la taille à tout moment, et sa version altérée n’est qu’une restitution parmi plusieurs possibles (elle ne possède pas de forme réellement « universelle » comme ce peut être le cas de la page imprimée, mais, au final, elle peut, comme celle-ci, devenir fixe).

Cette œuvre inédite a été commandée par le Jeu de Paume spécialement pour cette exposition en ligne.

Benjamin Gaulon

Artiste français vivant à Dublin, Benjamin Gaulon est aussi chercheur, enseignant et consultant artistique. Il dirige le D.A.T.A. (Dublin Art and Technology Association), est membre du Graffiti Research Lab France, co-fondateur du Musée irlandais d’art contemporain et maître de conférences au National College of Art and Design à Dublin. En 2011, il crée le Recyclism Hacklab où il dirige des sessions régulières de tutorat afin d’aider les membres du Hacklab dans leurs recherches. Les recherches de Benjamin Gaulon portent sur les limites et les échecs des technologies de l’information et de la communication, sur l’obsolescence planifiée de la société, consumériste et jetable, à travers l’exploration du détournement, du piratage et du recyclage. Depuis 2005, il anime des ateliers et donne des conférences sur ces thèmes.
http://www.recyclism.com/