Where my house lives
Where my house lives Jeanne Susplugas

Online creation

Where my house lives

A project by Jeanne Susplugas

From 01 March to 31 August 2021

Jeu de Paume Online

Lockdown made us aware of the four walls that surround us. We spent more time than ever before indoors, at home or wherever we were able to find shelter during those weeks when the whole world seemed to be confined because of the virus. Socio-economic differences undoubtedly had an impact on living conditions during the various lockdowns, but above all the situation revealed dysfunctionalities in relationships and accelerated or brought to the surface unstable or even turbulent domestic situations.

It was in this unique context that Jeanne Susplugas began collecting personal accounts of lockdown. These little stories were passed on to the writer Claire Castillon, who reinterpreted the situations in order to create powerful, imaginary narratives.

This collection is not intended as a precise analysis or a sociological study, but rather it offers a palette of experiences, some painful or frustrating, others bitter or disturbing, revealing in a powerful and profound way our reactions in the face of an unknown and unpredictable event. Extreme situations, desires, lies, acts of violence and misunderstandings brought about by confinement. Between the lines, the artist questions the role of the home as a ‘place of refuge’ and emphatically condemns the way the role of women regressed, as well as the increase in domestic violence during this enforced confinement.

Through a dozen windows, the only opening that we had onto the outside, we will enter these homes in order to listen to the intimate thoughts and the viewpoints of women and men, read by the writer herself.

During these weeks, we became one with our interiors, and our ‘houses’ became third persons in our lives, ‘There were my house lives’.

Marta Ponsa

Jeanne Susplugas

Born in Montpellier, lives in Paris, France. Jeanne Susplugas explores all forms and strategies of confinement in an approach that is both committed and hard-hitting. She continually questions the individual’s relation with themselves and with others in the face of an obsessive and dysfunctional world. With distance and precision, she explores a wide range of media – drawing, photography, installation, sculpture, sound, film, virtual reality, glass, ceramics, light thread. These languages enrich each other, forming an aesthetic that is seemingly seductive but quickly becomes disconcerting or even dark. The ramifications she develops have created a body of work that is rich in possible interpretations. Her protean, cross-disciplinary activity arouses contradictory sensations in viewers– unease and reassurance, anxiety and serenity. Her work has been extensively exhibited in France and internationally, notably at such locations and events as the KW in Berlin, the Villa Medici in Rome, the Palazzo delle Papesse in Siena, the Palais de Tokyo in Paris, Le Fresnoy National Studio, the Musée d’Art Moderne in Saint Etienne, the Musée de Grenoble, the Biennales of Alexandria and Shanghai and the Nuit Blanche in Paris. Her films have been shown at such festivals as Hors-Pistes (Centre Pompidou, Paris), the Locarno International Festival, the Miami International Festival, Les Instants Vidéos in Marseille and Les Rencontres Internationales Paris/Berlin/Madrid.

Where my house lives, Jeanne Susplugas, 2021, 20’
Texts & voice : Claire Castillon
Project produced by the Jeu de Paume in collaboration with aarea and with the support of the French Consulate-General of São Paulo

Billetterie

Création en ligne

Là où habite ma maison

Un projet en ligne de Jeanne Susplugas

Du 01 mars au 31 août 2021

Jeu de Paume en ligne

Le confinement nous a fait prendre conscience des quatre murs qui nous entourent. Nous avons passé plus de temps que jamais à l’intérieur, chez nous ou là où nous avons pu nous abriter pendant ces quelques semaines où le monde entier était comme enfermé à cause d’un virus. Indéniablement, les écarts socio-économiques ont marqué les conditions de vie des différents confinements mais cette situation a surtout dévoilé des dysfonctionnements relationnels et accéléré ou fait éclater des situations domestiques déséquilibrées voire perturbées.

Dans ce contexte si particulier, Jeanne Susplugas s’est mis à collecter des témoignages du confinement. Ces petites histoires ont été transmises à l’écrivaine Claire Castillon qui a réinterprété les situations pour proposer des récits imaginaires et percutants.

Cette collection n’a pas pour vocation une analyse ou une enquête sociologique exacte mais plutôt de proposer une palette d’expériences, certaines douloureuses, d’autres frustrantes, amères ou troublantes qui traitent de manière sensible et pointue de nos réactions face à un évènement inconnu et imprédictible. Des situations exagérées, des désirs, des mensonges, des violences, des malentendus induits par le huis-clos… En filigrane, l’artiste questionne le rôle de la maison comme « lieu refuge » et dénonce de façon déterminée la régression du rôle de la femme ainsi que l’augmentation des violences conjugales pendant cet enfermement forcé.

À travers une douzaine de fenêtres, la seule ouverture que nous avions vers l’extérieur, nous pénétrerons dans ces foyers pour écouter les réflexions intimes et points de vue féminins ou masculins, lus par l’écrivaine elle-même.

Pendant ces quelques semaines, nous avons fait corps avec nos intérieurs, et nos « maisons » sont devenues des tierces personnes dans nos vies, « Là où habite ma maison ».

L'artiste

Née à Montpellier, vit à Paris, France. La démarche de Jeanne Susplugas, engagée et sensible, s’en prend à toutes les formes et stratégies d’enfermement. Elle n’a de cesse d’interroger les relations de l’individu avec lui-même et avec l’autre, face à un monde obsessionnel et dysfonctionnel. Avec distance et précision, elle explore un large éventail de médiums – dessin, photographie, installation, sculpture, son, film, réalité virtuelle, verre, céramique, fil de lumière. Autant de langues qui s’enrichissent mutuellement pour créer une esthétique séduisante en apparence mais vite inquiétante voire grinçante. Les ramifications qu’elle élabore créent une œuvre globale riche d’interprétations. Un travail protéiforme, transversal, qui met le regardeur face à des sensations contradictoires – troublé et rassuré, inquiet et serein. Son travail a été largement montré en France et à l’étranger notamment dans des lieux tels le KW à Berlin, la Villa Medicis à Rome, le Palazzo delle Papesse à Sienne, le Palais de Tokyo à Paris, le Fresnoy National Studio, le Musée d’Art Moderne de St Etienne, le Musée de Grenoble, ainsi qu’à la Biennale d’Alexandrie et de Shangai ou la Nuit Blanche à Paris. Ses films ont été présentés lors de festival tels Hors-Pistes (Centre Pompidou, Paris), Locarno International Festival, Miami International Festival, Les Instants Vidéos à Marseille ou Les Rencontres Internationales Paris/Berlin/Madrid.

Là où habite ma maison, Jeanne Susplugas, 2021, 20’
Textes & voix : Claire Castillon
Projet produit par le Jeu de Paume en partenariat avec aarea et avec le soutien Consulat Général de France à São Paul