Making-of image of the film Meadow Report
Making-of image of the film Meadow Report 2020 Giverny, France
© Marine Hugonnier

Exhibition

Marine Hugonnier

Cinema in the guts

From 08 June to 18 September 2022

Jeu de Paume Paris

This summer, the Jeu de Paume opens its doors to Marine Hugonnier for her first major exhibition in France. The exhibition brings together a selection of works representative of Marine Hugonnier’s artistic approach since her debut in 1998.

In between documentary and fiction, Marine Hugonnier’s work constitutes an exploration of the politics of vision. Her practice is an attempt to deconstruct the inherent complicity between the gaze and political ideologies. The artist thus aims to question the cultural and political framework that conforms each point of view.

Primarily a filmmaker, her practice also includes photography and works on paper. Her films, described as experimental films or film essays, are often associated with visual anthropology. Her field of investigation is the space that separates the subject from its observer and the viewer from an image, as well as the materiality of film.

Her practice raises questions about the ontology of images in our Western cultural tradition, asking whether they refer in principle to colonial and extractive policies. The core of her research questions in turn what is represented, what cannot be represented or is under-represented, what is visible or induced.

She has travelled extensively with her Aaton s16 mm camera on her shoulder, adopting the position of reporter and ethnographer, deliberately blurring the figure of the artist. For Marine Hugonnier, producing images implies thinking about them. Cinema is thus conceived by the artist as a complex political act through which she attempts to reconfigure the exchange they imply, in order to envisage a new regime of images. Her projects address feminism, seek the possibility of a non-gendered gaze and a convergence between human and non-human.

This exhibition is not conceived as a retrospective but as a dynamic and performative installation in which certain projects will evolve over time. It includes a selection of works, some of which have never been shown before. The artist presents films, a performance, organic elements, and revisits older works. A film specifically produced for the Jeu de Paume exhibition is also presented.

Curator: Marta Ponsa, head of artistic projects and cultural action at the Jeu de Paume.

This exhibition has received the support of the ADAGP.
It also received support from Fluxus Art Projects, Fleur Assistance and Sheriff Projects.

Associated media: Le Monde, Télérama, Radio Nova.

fbpx
Header img
Photographie de tournage de Meadow Report Giverny, France
© Marine Hugonnier

Exposition

Marine Hugonnier

Le cinéma à l’estomac

Du 08 juin au 18 septembre 2022

Jeu de Paume - Paris

À l’été le Jeu de Paume ouvre ses portes à Marine Hugonnier pour sa première grande exposition en France. L’exposition réunit une sélection d’œuvres représentatives de l’approche artistique de  Marine Hugonnier depuis ses débuts en 1998.

À la frontière du documentaire et de la fiction, le travail de Marine Hugonnier constitue une exploration des politiques du regard. Sa pratique est une tentative de déconstruction de la complicité inhérente entre le regard et les idéologies politiques. L’artiste vise ainsi à interroger le cadre culturel et politique qui conforme chaque point de vue.

Cinéaste avant tout, sa pratique comprend aussi des photographies et des travaux sur papier. Ses films, décrits comme des films expérimentaux ou des essais de cinéma, sont souvent associés à l’anthropologie visuelle. Son champ d’investigation est l’espace qui sépare le sujet de son observateur et le spectateur d’une image ainsi que la matérialité du film.

Sa pratique pose des questions relatives à l’ontologie des images dans notre tradition culturelle occidentale cherchant à savoir si elles renvoient par principe aux politiques coloniales et d’extraction. Le cœur de sa recherche interroge tours à tours ce qui est representé, ce qui ne peut pas être représenté ou qui est sous-représenté, ce qui est visible ou induit.

Elle a beaucoup voyagé avec sa caméra Aaton s16 mm à l’épaule adoptant la position du reporter et de l’ethnographe, troublant délibérément la figure de l’artiste. Pour Marine Hugonnier, produire des images implique de les penser. Le cinéma est ainsi conçu par l’artiste comme un acte politique complexe à travers lequel elle tente de reconfigurer les dispositifs de captation et de restitution du monde pour envisager un nouveau régime d’images. Ses projets abordent le féminisme, cherchent la possibilité d’un regard non-genré et d’une convergence entre humain et non-humain.

Cette exposition n’est pas conçue comme une rétrospective mais comme une installation dynamique et performative dans laquelle certains projets évolueront au fil des mois. Elle comprend une sélection d’œuvres dont certaines sont inédites. L’artiste présente des films, une performance, des éléments organiques, et revisite des œuvres plus anciennes. Un film spécifiquement produit pour l’exposition du Jeu de Paume est aussi présenté.