Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

The Quick Brown, 2010. © Jonathan Puckey (Moniker)
The Quick Brown, 2010. © Jonathan Puckey (Moniker)

Online creation

THE QUICK BROWN - JONATHAN PUCKEY (MONIKER)

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

The Quick Brown  by Jonathan Puckey (Moniker) is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

Jonathan Puckey is a « conditional designer », which is a specific discipline he co-authored the Manifesto of. Conditional design tries to find a perfect blend between the automatic processes which programming code can enable and the formal graphic design processes. Puckey’s works use a rigorous design and software custom programs producing graphical and processual unique results.

« The Quick Brown » is an effective experiment keeping track of how online headlines change in time on news websites through the editor’s fine-tuning, showing slight or radical adjustments as the news itself and its full understanding evolves.
This process is almost imperceptible to the reader, until it’s documented. And it’s also evidently going to change the relationship between the editor and the reader. In fact, it epitomizes the web feature to be updated any second, here in the form of the news headline, which is a medium in itself and which has been static for almost four centuries in newspapers. Our assumption that a headline should remain the same, as our trained mind is suggesting, is then dismantled and, its contemporary form, revealed.

Jonathan Puckey (Moniker)

Born in 1981, Jonathan Puckey lives and works in Amsterdam. Independent graphic designer and artist, he teaches Graphic Design at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam, the Yale University School of Art in New Haven and the ECAL University in Lausanne. In 2012 he founded Moniker, a design studio together with Luna Maurer & Roel Wouters.
More often than not, his work involves a mix between programmed automation and the intuition of the designer. He is also co-author of Conditional Design Manisfesto.
http://fffff.at/

The Quick Brown, 2010. © Jonathan Puckey (Moniker)
The Quick Brown, 2010. © Jonathan Puckey (Moniker)

Création en ligne

THE QUICK BROWN - JONATHAN PUCKEY (MONIKER)

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

The Quick Brown  de Jonathan Puckey (Moniker) fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Jonathan Puckey est « designer conditionnel », une discipline à part entière dont il est coauteur du manifeste. Le design conditionnel vise l’alliance parfaite entre des processus automatiques obéissant à un code de programmation, et des processus de graphisme formel. Les œuvres de Puckey émanent d’études rigoureuses et de logiciels personnalisés dont les résultats, en termes de graphisme et de traitement, sont sans équivalent.

The Quick Brown est une expérience concrète qui se propose d’observer comment, sur les sites Internet d’actualité, les gros titres changent suite aux retouches qu’y apportent leurs rédacteurs : ils subissent des modifications, légères ou radicales, à mesure que l’actualité elle-même et son analyse évoluent.
Ce processus ne peut être perceptible par le lecteur que s’il est consigné. Et il va évidemment aussi modifier la relation entre le lecteur et le rédacteur. En réalité, il symbolise à lui seul l’information web et la nécessité de la mettre à jour en permanence − ici à travers les titres de l’actualité qui constituent un médium à part entière et qui, presque quatre siècles durant, sont demeurés statiques dans la presse. L’idée du titre immuable, telle que nos habitudes mentales nous l’imposent, s’en trouve bouleversée et sa forme contemporaine en est, elle, révélée.

Jonathan Puckey (Moniker)

Né en 1981, Jonathan Puckey vit et travaille à Amsterdam. Artiste et graphiste, il enseigne le graphisme à l’Académie Gerrit Rietveld d’Amsterdam, à l’Université des beaux-arts de Yale à New Haven et à l’ECAL de Lausanne. En 2012, il fonde Moniker, un studio de design avec Luna Maurer & Roel Wouters.
Il joue avec les limites inhérentes au design imprimé et les possibilités perçues comme infinies dans la programmation. Il est également l’un des auteurs de Conditional Design Manifesto.
http://fffff.at/