Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS MICHAEL WOLF
A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS MICHAEL WOLF

Online creation

A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS - MICHAEL WOLF

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

A series of unfortunate events by Michael Wolf is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

Michael Wolf uses his photographic skills to “shoot” pictures within the world of Google Street View, where city streets are viewable in a weird digital and photographic continuum. He takes “pictures” cutting out meaningful and universal elements and perspectives, which become fully entitled “photographs.” In “a series of unfortunate events” he transforms accidental details into images, with their “screen-y” texture left untouched to emphasize the ephemerality of their origins. It’s not a semi-automatic gathering of material (like the classic approach: a certain number of pictures from Google Images which fall into the criterium of choice), but an attentive selection of something which shouldn’t be in Google’s aseptic representation of reality (but ultimately found its place), turning out to be already a classic in Goggle Street View related art. The frozen instant of the industrial street mapping is then exploited in its unsuspected qualities, parasitized through aesthetic, human, metaphorical or technical errors. In the growing galaxy of the “printed web” Wolf assembles then a unique photographic book, with all the classic elements of this format (the paper, the layout, the captions), but perfectly interpreting at the same time how photographs should be taken within a popular digital environment.

The focus of the German photographer Michael Wolf’s work is life in mega cities and documenting the architecture and the vernacular culture of metropolises. Wolf grew up in Canada, Europe and the United States, studying at UC Berkeley and at the Folkwang School with Otto Steinert in Essen, Germany. He moved to Hong Kong in 1994 where he worked for 8 years as contract photographer for Stern magazine. He then withdrew from editorial photography in order to pursue his own projects.
Wolf’s work has been exhibited in numerous locations, including the Venice Bienniale for Architecture, Aperture Gallery, New York; Museum Centre Vapriikki, Tampere; Museum for Work, Hamburg, and the Museum of Contemporary Photography, Chicago. He has won first prize in the World Press Photo Award Competition on two occasions in 2005 and 2010 and an honorable mention on 2011.
https://photomichaelwolf.com/

fbpx

Fermé

Le Jeu de Paume – Paris est actuellement fermé. Découvrez l’exposition Renverser ses yeux. Autour de l’arte povera dès le 11 octobre.

A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS MICHAEL WOLF
A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS MICHAEL WOLF

Création en ligne

A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS - MICHAEL WOLF

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

A series of unfortunate events de Michael Wolf fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Michael Wolf utilise ses talents de photographe pour « prendre » des images sur Google Street View, cet univers qui permet de visualiser les rues selon un étrange continuum numérique et photographique. L’artiste prélève des « images » en isolant des éléments et des perspectives signifiants et universels qui deviennent alors des « photographies » à part entière. Dans « a series of unfortunate events », il transforme des détails accidentels en images, en préservant leur texture « tramée » pour accentuer le côté éphémère de leur provenance. Il ne s’agit pas d’une collecte semi-automatique (selon l’approche classique consistant à trier sur Google Images un certain nombre de photos répondant à tel ou tel critère), mais d’une sélection attentive de faits qui devraient être absents de la représentation aseptisée du réel voulue par Google (mais qui y apparaissent malgré tout), ce qui en fait d’ores et déjà un classique de l’art inspiré par Google Street View. Ces instants figés de recensement systématique des rues sont ensuite exploités pour leurs qualités insoupçonnées, parasitées par des erreurs esthétiques, humaines, métaphoriques ou techniques. Dans la galaxie en expansion du « Web imprimé », Wolf compile ainsi un livre photographique original, conforme à tous les canons classiques (papier, maquette, légendes), mais qui, en même temps, illustre à la perfection le mode de photographie qu’il convient de pratiquer sur ce terrain numérique très fréquenté.

Le travail du photographe allemand Michael Wolf porte sur la vie dans les méga-villes et sur comment documenter l’architecture et la culture vernaculaire de ces métropoles. Wolf a grandi au Canada, en Europe et aux États Unis. Il a fait ses études à l’UC Berkeley et à la Folkwang School de Essen avec Otto Steinert. En 1994 il déménage à Hong Kong, où il travaille pendant huit ans en tant que photographe sous contrat pour le Stern. Il s’est alors retiré de la photographie de presse afin de poursuivre ses propres projets.
Ses photographies ont été exposées dans de nombreuses institutions, dont la Biennale d’Architecture de Venise, l’Aperture Gallery (New York), le Musée Centre Vapriikki (Tampere), le Museum der Arbeit (Hambourg), et le Museum of Contemporary Photography (Chicago). Il a remporté le premier prix du World Press Photo à deux reprises en 2005 et en 2010 ainsi qu’une mention d’honneur en 2011.
https://photomichaelwolf.com/