fbpx
Špela Petrič, Ectogeneses. Plant-Human Monsters, 2016.
Špela Petrič, Ectogeneses. Plant-Human Monsters, 2016.

Online creation

ECTOGENESES. PLANT-HUMAN MONSTERS -ŠPELA PETRIČ

As part of "A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades"

From 01 October 2017 to 31 May 2018

Jeu de Paume Online

Ectogeneses. Plant-Human Monsters by  Špela Petrič is part of the project “A propos du Chthulucène” proposed by Maria Ptqk for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

Ectogenesis explores hybridisation between humans and plants through experimentation with hormones, the messenger molecules that reveal the common evolutionary ancestry of animals and plants. Starting with a piece of arabidopsis tissue (Arabidopsis thaliana), Petrič creates a series of in vitro “plant embryos” whose development she enhances by injecting steroid hormones extracted from her own urine. This procedure modifies the plant’s epigenetic pattern, thus producing a singular, monstrous morphology, monstrous “in the loving sense of the word”, which points towards radical forms of experimental trans-species.

In Ectogenesis, the plant agent, a “gentle green alien”, commonly considered the most primordial form of life, is mixed with the human agent, and their materiality is imbued with cultural and political significance. Since the chemical structure of hormones favours their interaction with other molecules, for Petrič their contextual and adaptive dimension makes them especially suitable interfaces for testing interaction between species, the ability to be “affected” by others in a process that is both material and semiotic.

Špela Petrič

Špela Petrič´s artistic practice combines natural sciences, new media and performance. She is interested in all aspects of anthropocentrism, the reconstruction and reappropriation of scientific methodology in the context of cultural phenomena, living systems in connection to inanimate systems manifesting life-like properties and terabiology, an ontological view of evolution and teraformative process on Earth. She extends her artistic research with art/sci workshops devoted to informing and sensitizing the interesting public. She is a member of Hackteria.
http://www.spelapetric.org/cv/

Špela Petrič, Ectogeneses. Plant-Human Monsters, 2016.
Špela Petrič, Ectogeneses. Plant-Human Monsters, 2016.

Création en ligne

ECTOGENESES. PLANT-HUMAN MONSTERS -ŠPELA PETRIČ

Dans le cadre de "A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades"

Du 01 octobre 2017 au 31 mai 2018

Jeu de Paume en ligne

Ectogeneses. Plant-Human Monsters  de Špela Petrič fait partie du projet  « A propos du Chthulucène » proposé par Maria Ptqk pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Le projet Ectogeneses explore l’hybridation entre humains et végétaux à travers l’expérimentation avec des hormones, les molécules messagères qui révèlent l’ancêtre évolutif commun des plantes et des animaux. À partir de la section d’une petite plante nommée Arabette des dames, Petrič produit une série d’ « embryons végétaux » in vitro dont elle impulse le développement par l’injection d’hormones stéroïdes extraites de sa propre urine. Ce procédé modifie la structure épigénétique de la plante qui produit ainsi une morphologie singulière, monstrueuse « dans le sens amoureux du mot », signalant des formes radicales d’expérimentation entre espèces.

Dans Ectogeneses, l’agent végétal, « gentil alien vert » souvent considéré comme une forme primordiale de vie, se mélange avec l’agent humain et sa matérialité imprégnée de significations culturelles et politiques. Si la structure chimique des hormones permet son interaction avec d’autres molécules, pour Petrič leur dimension contextuelle et adaptative en fait des interfaces idéales pour tester les possibilités d’échange entre espèces, la capacité de se laisser « affecter » par les autres dans le cadre d’un processus qui est à la fois matériel et sémiotique.

Špela Petrič

La pratique artistique de Špela Petrič combine les sciences naturelles, les nouveaux médias et la performance. Elle s’intéresse à tous les aspects de l’anthropocentrisme, à la reconstruction et à la réappropriation de la méthodologie scientifique en lien avec les phénomènes culturels, les systèmes vivants liés aux systèmes inanimés manifestant des propriétés similaires au vivant et à la terabiologie, comme vision ontologique de l’évolution et du processus téraformatif sur la planète. Elle prolonge sa recherche artistique par des ateliers art / sciences consacrés à l’information et à la sensibilisation du public intéressé. Elle est membre de Hackteria.
http://www.spelapetric.org/cv/