Mary Maggic, Egstrogen Farms, 2015.
Mary Maggic, Egstrogen Farms, 2015.

Online creation

EGSTROGEN FARMS -MARY MAGGIC

As part of "A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades"

From 01 May 2017 to 31 May 2018

Jeu de Paume Online

Egstrogen Farms by Mary Maggic is part of the project “A propos du Chthulucène” proposed by Maria Ptqk for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

The tactical media work Egstrogen Farms considers the domestication of women’s reproductive capabilities by the biotech industry, particularly hormonal ovarian stimulation therapies for the purpose of artificial insemination. Presented as a fictitious company, Egstrogen Farms markets a variety of eggs genetically modified to produce a “cocktail of gonadotropins”, the hormones responsible for regulating reproduction in vertebrates.

Along the lines of feminist authors such as Geena Corea, Margaret Atwood or Haraway herself, who in the 1980s pointed out the parallelism between the large-scale domestication of chickens and the massive confinement of women in the home, Maggic presents a criticism of reproductive marketing in the current biotech scenario. Openly inspired by the work of collectives such as subRosa or Critical Art Ensemble, Egstrogen Farms expands the symbology of the egg as a therapeutic, food and reproductive matrix by means of a parodic subversion of interspecies exchange.

Mary Maggic

Mary Maggic is an artist working at the intersection of biotechnology, cultural discourse, and civil disobedience. Her investigations challenge the role of creator and creation, the ethics of the postnatural product and the neoliberal promises of science and technology. This pursuit has led her through many modes of exploration: from tropical rainforest research to documentary films that capture the motivations and philosophies of biotinkerers such as herself. Maggic’s most recent project generates DIY protocols for hacking estrogen, demonstrating its biopolitical ubiquity and potential for mutagenesis, i.e. gender-hacking. She holds a Bachelor of Science and Art (BSA) in Biological Sciences and Art from Carnegie Mellon University and is currently pursuing her masters in Media Arts and Sciences at MIT Media Lab, Design Fiction research group.
http://www.maggic.ooo/a-b-o-u-t

Mary Maggic
Mary Maggic Egstrogen Farms, 2015.

Création en ligne

EGSTROGEN FARMS -MARY MAGGIC

Dans le cadre de "A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades"

Du 01 mai 2017 au 31 mai 2018

Jeu de Paume en ligne

Egstrogen Farms  de Mary Maggic  fait partie du projet  « A propos du Chthulucène » proposé par Maria Ptqk pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Egstrogen Farms est un projet de tactical media qui aborde la domestication des capacités reproductives des femmes par l’industrie biotechnologique, notamment par le biais de thérapies hormonales qui stimulent les ovaires à des fins d’insémination artificielle. Présentée comme une entreprise fictive, Egstrogen Farms commercialise une gamme d’œufs génétiquement modifiés pour produire un « cocktail de gonadotrophines », les hormones responsables de la régulation de la reproduction chez les vertébrés.

S’inscrivant dans la lignée d’auteurs féministes comme Geena Corea, Margaret Atwood ou Donna Haraway, qui dès les années 1980 dénoncent le parallélisme entre l’élevage industriel des poules et l’enfermement massif des femmes au foyer, Mary Maggic livre une critique de la mercantilisation de la reproduction dans le contexte biotechnologique actuel. Inspiré par le travail de collectifs comme subRosa ou Critical Art Ensemble, Egstrogen Farms élargit ainsi le symbole de l’œuf comme matrice thérapeutique, alimentaire et reproductive par un détournement parodique des échanges entre espèces.

Mary Maggic

Mary Maggic est une artiste travaillant à l’intersection de la biotechnologie, du discours culturel et de la désobéissance civile. Ses enquêtes remettent en question le rôle du créateur et de la création, l’éthique du produit postnatural et les promesses néolibérales de la science et de la technologie. Cette recherche l’a conduit à de nombreux modes d’exploration : de la recherche sur la forêt tropicale aux films documentaires qui captent les motivations et les philosophies des bioterrisseurs comme elle. Le projet le plus récent de Maggic génère des protocoles DIY pour pirater les œstrogènes, démontrant son ubiquité biopolitique et son potentiel de mutagenèse, c’est-à-dire le hacking du genre. Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme de l’Université Carnegie Mellon (BSA) en sciences biologiques et poursuit actuellement sa maîtrise en arts et sciences médiatiques au MIT Media Lab, groupe de recherche Design Fiction.
http://www.maggic.ooo/a-b-o-u-t