Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

LA CARTE OU LE TERRITOIRE - STÉPHANIE VILAYPHIOU
LA CARTE OU LE TERRITOIRE - STÉPHANIE VILAYPHIOU

Online creation

LA CARTE OU LE TERRITOIRE - STÉPHANIE VILAYPHIOU

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

La carte ou le territoire by Stéphanie Vilayphiou is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

Stéphanie Vilayphiou is a young artist and designer investigating how software (transparently developed) can deeply question the fixity of the printed page and the whole defensive copyright practices historically consolidated.
In « The map or the territory » she selected a controversial book, Michel Houellebecq’s « The map and the territory », which became renown for its evident quotes from Wikipedia, non-acknowledged by the author nor by the publisher. She took the book’s digitized text and wrote a software filter, which looks for each sentence (or part of it) in Google Books, finding the same sequences of words in other books. Visually the book transforms then in a digital collage of quotations (whose context is maintained in the background), loosing even the last bit of originality.
Vilayphiou embodies her sharp irony within a functional mechanism, exploiting Google’s industrial collection of texts and smartly expanding the mediating properties of language through the networks.

Stéphanie Vilayphiou

Stéphanie Vilayphiou is a Brussels-based graphic designer, member of the collective Open Source Publishing. She is especially interested in sharing of knowledge, questioning its social accessibility and alternatives to copyright. Through commissioned and self-initiated projects she explores manipulation of text: typography, code, vocabulary, translation. She currently works, in the frame of the European research project Libre Graphics Research Unit, on the editing of a reader on the mutual relation between tools, practice and free culture in graphic design.
http://stdin.fr/


Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (1) in /home/jeudepaume/sites/prod/www/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5275

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (1) in /home/jeudepaume/sites/prod/www/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5275

LA CARTE OU LE TERRITOIRE - STÉPHANIE VILAYPHIOU
LA CARTE OU LE TERRITOIRE - STÉPHANIE VILAYPHIOU

Création en ligne

LA CARTE OU LE TERRITOIRE - STÉPHANIE VILAYPHIOU

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

La carte ou le territoire de Stéphanie Vilayphiou fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Stéphanie Vilayphiou est une jeune artiste et designer qui interroge la manière dont les logiciels (développés avec transparence) peuvent mettre en question la fixité de la page imprimée ainsi que l’ensemble du système défensif de droits mis en place depuis des siècles.

Pour « La carte ou le territoire », elle prend comme exemple le livre de Michel Houellebecq, « La carte et le territoire », notoirement connu pour ses nombreuses citations prises dans Wikipedia, sans reconnaissance de l’auteur ou de l’éditeur. Dans ce projet, elle a passé le texte numérisé du roman à travers un filtre logiciel, conçu par elle, pour traquer chaque phrase ou partie de phrase dans Google Books, afin d’en retrouver les occurrences dans d’autres livres. Visuellement, le livre se transforme ainsi en un collage numérique de citations (dont le contexte est maintenu en fond), et perd sa dernière part d’originalité.

Vilayphiou fait passer une ironie acerbe à travers un mécanisme fonctionnel qui exploite la collection industrielle de textes de Google, tout en élargissant avec intelligence la capacité médiatrice de la langue à travers les réseaux.

Stéphanie Vilayphiou

Stéphanie Vilayphiou est designer graphique à Bruxelles, membre du collectif Open Source Publishing. Elle s’intéresse notamment aux questions relatives au partage des savoirs, parmi lesquelles son accessibilité sociale et les alternatives au copyright. Elle explore au travers de projets commissionnés ou auto-initiés la manipulation du texte : typographie, code, vocabulaire, traduction. Elle travaille actuellement à l’édition d’un recueil de documents autour de la relation mutuelle entre outils, pratique et culture libre dans le design graphique, dans le cadre du projet de recherche européen Libre Graphics Research Unit.
http://stdin.fr/