Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

MONOSKOP LOG - DUŠAN BAROK
MONOSKOP LOG - DUŠAN BAROK

Online creation

MONOSKOP LOG - DUŠAN BAROK

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

Monoskop Log by Dušan Barok is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

There’s a whole unrecognized cultural revolution which has been triggered by the « download » phenomenon, since the substantial shrinking of media files’ size in the early 2000s. The accumulation of media files (mostly obtained on a free, formally not-exactly-legal basis) is then a technically induced change of cultural perspective which has produced a global endless exchange of content, epitomizing the true nature of networks and technology as « medium. »

Dušan Barok approach to this scenario has been to transform his personal collection of media (and among them a remarkable quantity of books’ pdf) about contemporary art culture and media with a special interest in the ex East of Europe, in a public database where every item is downloadable and whose updates are enjoyable in the form a (b)log.

Enhancing the (even potentially dangerous) « sharing » beyond « accumulating » he’s embodying the 21st Century « personal librarian » consistently curating and updating his collection dismissing any commercial or copyright implications, as technically irrelevant. Those librarians can constitute a new generation of active cultural agents, defining new temporary autonomous zones.

Dušan Barok

Dušan Barok is an artist, writer and cultural activist involved in critical practise in the fields of software and art. Born in Bratislava, he graduated in information technologies and Networked Media. He founded and ran a Slovak online culture portal Koridor (1999-2002). In 2003 he co-founded BURUNDI media lab and organised there a series of Translab evenings. In 2004 he initiated a wiki-based portal Monoskop for a collaborative research of media art and culture; in 2009 together with Tomáš Kovács started a free access living archive of writings on art, culture, and media technologies Monoskop Log; and has conducted research of history of media art and culture in East-Central Europe. In 2012 he co-founded an artist collective La Société Anonyme.
https://monoskop.org/Du%C5%A1an_Barok

MONOSKOP LOG - DUŠAN BAROK
MONOSKOP LOG - DUŠAN BAROK

Création en ligne

MONOSKOP LOG - DUŠAN BAROK

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

Monoskop Log de Dušan Barok fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

Il existe depuis le début des années 2000 une révolution culturelle méconnue, dûe au phénomène du téléchargement lié à la diminution substantielle de la taille des fichiers multimédia. Cette inovation technique a comme conséquence l’accumulation de fichiers multimédia (obtenus principalement sur une base gratuite et pas totalement légale) et induit une nouvelle perspective culturelle.
Cet échange global et infini du contenu symbolise la véritable nature des réseaux et de la technologie comme « moyen ».

Dans ce contexte, l’approche de Dušan Barok a été de transformer sa collection personnelle de médias en une base de données publique où chaque article est téléchargeable et dont les mises à jour sont proposées sous forme d’un (b)log (journal). Cette collection dédiée à l’art, à la culture et aux médias contemporains, avec un intérêt tout particulier pour l’ex-Europe de l’Est, se compose d’une remarquable quantité de livres en PDF.

Dušan Barok

Artiste, écrivain, activiste culturel, Dušan Barok est critique dans les domaines de la programmation informatique et de l’art. Né à Bratislava, il est diplômé en technologies de l’information et en médias des réseaux. De 1999 à 2002, il fonde et dirige Koridor, un portail culturel slovaque. En 2003, il co-fonde Burundi, un laboratoire média où il organise des rencontres. En 2004, il lance Monoskop, portail basé sur la technologie wiki, dont le but est une étude collaborative des médias, de l’art et de la culture. En 2009, avec Tomáš Kovács, il crée Monoskop Log, archive vivante et en accès libre d’écrits sur l’art, la culture et les technologies des médias. Il a également mené des recherches en histoire de l’art et de la culture des médias en Europe centrale et de l’Est. Enfin en 2012, il co-fonde le collectif d’artistes « La Société Anonyme ».
https://monoskop.org/Du%C5%A1an_Barok