Paulo Tavares, Non-human Rights, 2012.

Online creation

NON-HUMAN RIGHTS -PAULO TAVARES

As part of A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades

From 01 October 2017 to 30 June 2018

Jeu de Paume Online

Non-human Rights by Paulo Tavares is part of the project “A propos du Chthulucène” proposed by Maria Ptqk for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

The video essay Non-human Rights expounds the thesis of radical universalism between humans and non-humans, taking as its starting point the debates that arose in connection with the recognition of the rights of nature in the Constitution approved in Ecuador in 2008. In the indigenous cosmovision, the claims concerning the Amazon region are not just disputes about land or against the extraction of natural resources; they also have to do with the basic right to existence and the maintenance of life, as reflected in the notions of Pachamama and sumak kawsay (commonly translated as Mother Nature and living fully, respectively).

The inclusion of concepts of this kind, derived from indigenous culture, in a legal text strains the limits of political law inherited by modernity and upsets the separation between subject and object, between natural history and social history. As Michel Serres suggests in Le Contrat naturel (1990), extensively quoted in the video, the social contract that relegated “the world” to the status of an inert object that could be appropriated and destroyed has to be replaced with a new kind of contract, a “natural” contract open to forms of legal subjectivity of the non-human.

Paulo Tavares

Paulo Tavares is a Brazilian architect and urbanist based in Quito and London. His work is concerned with the relations between conflict and space as they intersect within the multi-scalar arrangements of cities, territories and ecologies. Grounded on research-based methodologies and commitment to field-work, Tavares’s practice combines design, media-based cartographies and writing as interconnected modalities of reading contemporary spatial conditions. He is currently developing a project on the violence of planning and the politics of ecology in Amazonia at the PhD Programme of the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths, UK. The video-essay Non-Human Rights is part of World of Matter, a multimedia collective project on the global ecologies of resource exploitation and circulation.
http://www.worldofmatter.net/paulo-tavares

Paulo Tavares, Non-human Rights, 2012.

Création en ligne

NON-HUMAN RIGHTS -PAULO TAVARES

Dans le cadre de A propos du Chthulucène et de ses espèces camarades

Du 01 octobre 2017 au 30 juin 2018

Jeu de Paume en ligne

Non-human Rights,  de Paulo Tavares fait partie du projet  « A propos du Chthulucène » proposé par Maria Ptqk pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

L’essai vidéo Non-human Rights expose la thèse de l’universalisme radical entre humains et non humains à partir des débats sur la reconnaissance des droits de la nature dans la Constitution équatorienne de 2008. Dans la culture indigène, les revendications sur la forêt amazonienne ne relèvent pas seulement de disputes liées à la terre ou à l’exploitation des ressources naturelles. Selon leur vision du monde, les droits fondamentaux à l’existence et au maintien de la vie, conformément aux notions de Pachamama ou Sumar kawsay (le plus souvent traduit par les termes respectifs « Terre Mère » et « plénitude de la vie ») sont également en jeu.

L’intégration de concepts issus de la culture indigène dans un texte de loi force les limites du droit politique hérité de la modernité, en remettant en cause la séparation entre l’objet et le sujet, entre l’histoire naturelle et l’histoire sociale. Comme le suggérait Michel Serres dans Le Contrat naturel (1990), largement cité dans la vidéo, le contrat social qui relègue le monde au statut d’objet inerte, susceptible d’être approprié et détruit, doit être remplacé par un nouveau type de contrat : un contrat « naturel » ouvert à des formes de personnalités juridiques non humaines.

Paulo Tavares

Paulo Tavares est un architecte et urbaniste brésilien basé à Quito et à Londres. DAns son travail, il s’intéresse à la relation entre conflit et espace au fur et à mesure dont elle se traduit dans les arrangements multi-scalaires des villes, des territoires et des écologies. Basée sur des méthodologies fondées sur la recherche et sur l’engagement avec le travail de terrain, la pratique de Tavares associe le design, la cartographie et l’écriture en tant que modalités interconnectées de lecture des conditions spatiales contemporaines. Il développe actuellement un projet sur la violence de la planification et la politique écologique en Amazonie dans le cadre du programme de doctorat du Centre d’Architecture de Recherche, Goldsmiths, Royaume-Uni. L’essai vidéo Non-Human Rights fait partie de World of Matter, un projet collectif multimédia sur les écologies mondiales de l’exploitation et de la circulation des ressources.
http://www.worldofmatter.net/paulo-tavares