Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

Online creation

PRINTING OUT THE INTERNET - KENNETH GOLDSMITH

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

Printing out the Internet by Kenneth Goldsmith is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

Kenneth Goldsmith is a renown poet, but probably he’s mostly known for being a founding editor of the fabulous digital archive « UbuWeb », and also knowledgeable about other contemporary writer’s experiments in computing and literature. Printing out the Internet seems then to link all of those activities with a resounding call: asking people to print out what they want from the Internet and then sharing it in a gallery space (LABOR in Mexico City). This ‘crowdsourced work of art’ was indeed a provocative one: a few tons of paper were delivered, a reading marathon started (“reading the entire internet”) and a few controversial reactions from press and people were triggered, like a spontaneous online petition asking him to stop it for environment’s sake with quite a few harsh personal reactions. But the work is telling a lot in a different direction: making the transitory permanent and available. The fugacious web pages, texts and interfaces are then impressed and enjoyed as old photocopies and an instant and free library slowly arises in a gallery’s room thanks to spontaneous personal commitment. Clearly inspired by Aaron Swartz and his brave and dangerous liberation of copyrighted scientific content from the JSTOR online archive, this work gives back to print its disruptive potential.

Kenneth Goldsmith

Born in 1961 in New York, where he lives. A poet and teacher, Kenneth Goldsmith created the Ubuweb site in 1996. He collected sounds, texts and videos from western avant-garde artistic movements. From 1995 to 2010 he presented a radio programme on WFMU that was an extension of his experimental writing. By developing the concept of creative uncreativity (Uncreativity as Creative Practice), Goldsmith established himself as an important figure in contemporary American poetry.
In parallel with his poetic writings, he published I’ll Be Your Mirror: The Selected Andy Warhol Interviews (2004), as well as an essay on conceptual poetry, Uncreative Writing: Managing Language in a Digital Age (2011), and a book on experimental music, A Popular Guide to Unpopular Music.
http://writing.upenn.edu/epc/

Création en ligne

PRINTING OUT THE INTERNET - KENNETH GOLDSMITH

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

Printing out the Internet de Kenneth Goldsmith fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

 

Kenneth Goldsmith est célèbre comme poète, mais sans doute surtout comme fondateur et animateur des fabuleuses archives numériques « UbuWeb » ; c’est également un bon connaisseur des expériences informatiques et littéraires menées par d’autres auteurs contemporains. Printing out the Internet entend donc fédérer toutes ces actions par un vibrant appel : demander à chacun d’imprimer ce que bon lui semble sur Internet et de partager ses trouvailles dans le cadre d’une galerie (LABOR à Mexico). Cette « œuvre d’art collaborative » est en fait une provocation puisqu’elle a déclenché la livraison de plusieurs tonnes de papier, une lecture-marathon (« lire tout Internet »), des réactions hostiles dans la presse et l’opinion (ex. pétition spontanée en ligne demandant la fin de l’expérience par égard pour l’environnement) et de vives réactions ici et là. Elle se révèle pourtant utile dans un autre registre : en rendant permanent et disponible ce qui est éphémère. Les pages, messages et interfaces fugaces du Web sont désormais imprimés et exploités comme de bonnes vieilles photocopies ; grâce à une participation spontanée, une bibliothèque instantanée et libre prend lentement forme dans l’espace de la galerie. Manifestement inspirée par Aaron Swartz qui, avec courage et au mépris du danger, a sorti des d’articles scientifiques protégés des archives en lignes de JSTOR, cette œuvre rend à l’imprimé son pouvoir subversif.

Kenneth Goldsmith

Né en 1961 à New York, où il vit. Poète et enseignant, Kenneth Goldsmith crée le site Ubuweb en 1996. Il y rassemble des sons, mais aussi des textes et des vidéos issus des avant-gardes artistiques occidentales. De 1995 à 2010, il présente une émission de radio sur WFMU, qui est une extension de son écriture expérimentale. C’est en développant le concept de non-créativité créative (Uncreativity as Creative Practice) que Goldsmith s’impose comme un acteur important de la poésie contemporaine américaine.).
Parallèlement à l’écriture poétique, il publie I’ll be Your Mirror: The Selected Andy Warhol Interviews (2004) ainsi qu’un essai sur la poésie conceptuelle, Uncreative Writing: Managing Language in a Digital Age (2011) et un livre sur la musique expérimentale, A Popular Guide to Unpopular Music.
http://writing.upenn.edu/epc/