Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

Online creation

THE DEATH OF THE AUTHORS, 1941 EDITION CONSTANT (AN MERTENS, FEMKE SNELTING)

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2021 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

The Death of the Authors, 1941 edition by Constant (An Mertens, Femke Snelting) is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

The copyright expiration of a literary work is not anymore a mere economical/bureaucratic event for the authors’ heirs, but a worldwide cultural event. The definitive liberation of the original text in its conversion to a digital form, fully authorised by the finally granted copyright expiration, is celebrated then by an infinite duplication and distribution all over the networks. This event inspired the Belgian collective Constant to create a proper digital process to enhance its artistic value. They wrote a generative software that generates a novel based on texts by Virginia Woolf, James Joyce, Rabindranath Tagore, Elizabeth Von Arnim, Sherwood Anderson and Henri Bergson, freely downloadable from a webpage once finished. All these authors died in 1941, so the copyright of their whole work expired on the first of January 2012 (after seventy years). This literary gesture handles the texts in an automatic and free awe way. It’s the result of a purely remix practice, but totally governed by software. The author’s content becomes then magmatic and ethereal, reborn and archived at every new generation. The respective authors are somehow back with their whole style and in an unpublished, unexpected and ever changing collaboration.

CONSTANT

Constant is a non-profit association, an interdisciplinary arts-lab based and active in Brussels since 1997.
Constant works in-between media and art and is interested in the culture and ethics of the World Wide Web. The artistic practice of Constant is inspired by the way that technological infrastructures, data-exchange and software determine our daily life. Free software, copyright alternatives and (cyber)feminism are important threads running through the activities of Constant.
Constant organizes workshops, print-parties, walks and ‘Verbindingen/Jonctions’-meetings on a regular basis for a public that’s into experiments, discussions and all kinds of exchanges.
https://constantvzw.org/site/-About-Constant-7-?lang=en

fbpx

Fermé

Le Jeu de Paume – Paris est actuellement fermé. Découvrez l’exposition Renverser ses yeux. Autour de l’arte povera dès le 11 octobre.

Création en ligne

THE DEATH OF THE AUTHORS, 1941 EDITION CONSTANT (AN MERTENS, FEMKE SNELTING)

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2021 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

The Death of the Authors, 1941 edition de Constant (An Mertens, Femke Snelting) fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

L’expiration du copyright d’une œuvre littéraire, qui n’était autrefois qu’un simple fait de nature économique ou administratif concernant les héritiers de l’auteur, est désormais un événement culturel d’ampleur mondiale. La libération définitive du texte original par sa conversion au format numérique, qu’autorise de plein droit l’expiration officielle du copyright, est célébrée par la duplication du texte à l’infini et par sa diffusion sur les réseaux. Le collectif belge Constant s’est inspiré de cet événement pour créer un processus numérique destiné à en accroître la valeur artistique. Ses membres ont ainsi développé un logiciel génératif, qui produit un roman à partir de textes tirés des œuvres de Virginia Woolf, James Joyce, Rabindranath Tagore, Elizabeth Von Arnim, Sherwood Anderson et Henri Bergson. Une fois généré, le roman peut être téléchargé à partir d’une page web. Ces auteurs étant tous décédés en 1941, le copyright de l’ensemble de leurs œuvres a expiré le 1er janvier 2012 (soixante-dix ans après leur décès). Cet acte littéraire traite les textes de façon automatique et libre, et dans un respect mêlé d’admiration. Il est le résultat d’un processus relevant purement du mixage, mais entièrement géré par logiciel. Le texte de l’auteur devient dès lors magmatique et éthéré ; il renaît et est archivé à chaque nouvelle génération. Ces auteurs sont en quelque sorte ressuscités, chacun avec son style, dans un ouvrage non publié, fruit d’une collaboration inattendue et en perpétuelle évolution.

CONSTANT

Constant, association à but non lucratif, est un laboratoire artistique interdisciplinaire basé à Bruxelles et actif depuis 1997.
Dans ses productions à la frontière entre l’art et les médias, Constant s’intéresse à la culture et à l’éthique du web. Sa pratique artistique est inspirée par la façon dont les infrastructures technologiques, les échanges de données et les logiciels déterminent notre quotidien. Les logiciels libres, les solutions de substitution au copyright et le (cyber)féminisme sont des fils thématiques importants qui constituent la trame des activités de l’association.
Constant organise périodiquement des ateliers, des sessions d’impression, des balades et des rencontres intitulées « Verbindingen/Jonctions » pour un public épris d’expériences, de discussions et d’échanges en tout genre.
https://constantvzw.org/site/-About-Constant-7-?lang=en