Closed

The Jeu de Paume Paris is currently closed. It will reopen from June 8 for exhibitions “Jean Painlevé. Feet in the water” and “Marine Hugonnier. Cinema to the guts”.
The Jeu de Paume – Tours is open with the exhibition “Thibaut Cuisset. Loire” until May 29.

THE SKOR CODEX - LA SOCIÉTÉ ANONYME
THE SKOR CODEX - LA SOCIÉTÉ ANONYME

Online creation

THE SKOR CODEX - LA SOCIÉTÉ ANONYME

As part of "Print error / publishing in the digital age"

From 23 October 2012 to 07 April 2014

Jeu de Paume Online

The SKOR Codex by La Société Anonyme is part of the exhibition “Print error / publishing in the digital age” proposed by Alessandro Ludovico, for the Jeu de Paume virtual space.

In times of crisis and cultural funding cuts La Société Anonyme is an international artist collective formally committed to find alternative ways to sustain art.
Their first project is The SKOR Codex, a printed book whose content (text, pictures and sounds) is binary encoded, with enclosed visual instructions about how to decode it. It’s meant to be preserved for the future in a classic « time capsule » strategy. The human attitude to make such capsules (usually buried for posterity), is here embodied in the standards of a universal object (the book) and a copy has been commissioned to be indefinitely preserved at the Bibliothèque nationale de France through a signed agreement.
There are a few values which emerges from this gesture: the attribution to the printed page of the « digital preservation medium » status; the definition of the book as a potential self-contained « time capsule »; and the recognition of the library as an irreplaceable repository for the future. And with the SKOR codex placed in the daedalus of the BnF shelves one would wonder, how many other potential « time capsules » are just buried in the biggest libraries around the world?

La Société Anonyme

La Société Anonyme is an artist’s collective born from the ashes of the Dutch 2013 funding cuts to the arts. An avant-garde art collective with a corporate twist après la lettre, La Société Anonyme launches its first product in July 2012: The SKOR Codex, a book preserving the legacy of one of the Netherlands’ perishing art organisations for the distant future. Adopting an experimental model of artistic corporation, La Société Anonyme responds to the commodification of culture by searching for alternative ways to make, promote and sustain art. La Société Anonyme is represented by Dušan Barok, Danny van der Kleij, Aymeric Mansoux, and Marloes de Valk.
http://societeanonyme.la/

THE SKOR CODEX - LA SOCIÉTÉ ANONYME
THE SKOR CODEX - LA SOCIÉTÉ ANONYME

Création en ligne

THE SKOR CODEX - LA SOCIÉTÉ ANONYME

Dans le cadre de "Erreur d'impression publier à l'heure du numérique"

Du 23 octobre 2012 au 07 avril 2014

Jeu de Paume en ligne

The SKOR Codex de La Société Anonyme fait partie de l’exposition « Erreur d’impression publier à l’heure du numérique»  proposée par  Alessandro Ludovico, pour l’espace virtuel du Jeu de Paume.

En période de crise et de coupes dans les budgets dédiés à la culture, la Société Anonyme, collectif d’artistes internationaux, s’est officiellement engagée à trouver des moyens alternatifs pour soutenir les arts.

Son premier projet le SKOR Codex est un livre imprimé dont le contenu (textes, images et sons) est codé de manière binaire et accompagné d’instructions visuelles destinées à le décrypter. Cet ouvrage est destiné à être préservé pour le futur dans une stratégie classique de « capsule temporelle ». Le fait de créer ces « capsules » (généralement enterrées pour la postérité) est ici incarné dans les standards d’un objet universel (le livre). Ainsi un exemplaire du SKOR Codex sera conservé à la Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Ce geste peut être considéré sous plusieurs angles : la page imprimée a pour statut de préserver des contenus numériques ; le livre devient potentiellement une « capsule temporelle » ; les bibliothèques conservent leur vocation incontournable de conservation pour l’avenir. Avec le SKOR Codex conservé dans le dédale des étagères de la Bibliothèque nationale de France, on peut s’interroger sur le nombre d’autres « capsules temporelles » enfouies dans les plus grandes bibliothèques à travers le monde ?

La Société Anonyme

La Société Anonyme est un collectif d’artistes né aux Pays-Bas suite aux coupes dans les budgets dévolus à la culture, en 2013. Collectif d’avant garde avec une pointe d’entreprenariat, La Société Anonyme lance son premier produit en juillet 2012 : le SKOR Codex, un livre préservant l’héritage de l’une des organisations artistiques des Pays-Bas. Adoptant un modèle expérimental de société artistique, La Société Anonyme répond à la marchandisation de la culture en recherchant des alternatives pour réaliser, promouvoir et soutenir l’art. La Société Anonyme est représentée par Dušan Barok, Danny van der Kleij, Aymeric Mansoux, et Marloes de Valk.
http://societeanonyme.la/