fbpx

Info

Jeu de Paume – Paris is closed. Reopening on 14 February for the exhibition Thomas Demand.

Header img
Romina de Novellis Del maiale non si butta via niente Courtesy Galerie Alberta Pane © Gianluca Tamorri

Performance

Del maiale non si butta via niente

Performance of the series "La Cultura che Vive" by Romina De Novellis

Le 20 October 2022

From 11am to 7pm

Jeu de Paume Paris

The artist Romina De Novellis (Naples, 1982) revisits major works of arte povera from an ecofeminist perspective. She proposes to reinterpret and update certain themes and motifs of arte povera, in order to rethink, in resonance with this current, the relations between genders and between all living beings.

Del maiale non si butta via niente, 2022 (creation) [Of the pig we do not throw anything]

In response to Kounellis’ performance Untitled (Twelve Live Horses), 1969, De Novellis locks herself in a sow breeding cage. The control and mastery of the birth rate characterize intensive breeding and its economic profitability, a major stake of the agri-food industry. The female body is an object to be monitored, to be maintained with a view to productivity. In popular culture, the sacrifice of the pig is a popular festival that brings people together. De Novellis decides to lock herself up dressed as a woman-object, to show how our societies consume women’s bodies as well as animals’. She will regain her freedom at the end of the day. This action, both close and far from Kounellis’ performance, affirms a co-presence with the animal and, more generally, a new sensitivity towards the living.

LA CULTURA CHE VIVE, A SERIES OF PERFORMANCES

The artist Romina De Novellis revisits major works of arte povera in an ecofeminist perspective. She proposes to reinterpret and update certain themes and motifs of arte povera, in order to rethink, in resonance with this current, the relations between genders and between all living beings. Thus, consumerism, inequalities, the weight of the past and the resistance of living beings are all palpable concerns in her performances where the body of the female artist comes into play. In doing so, Romina De Novellis imagines a series of actions in resonance with the militant attitude and the use of simple materials of arte povera.

The proof is in the title, a tribute to the Italian artist and writer Ketty La Rocca, inspired by her collage, La cultura che non vive, created in 1964. The actions of Romina De Novellis reinvest certain attitudes of arte povera, with an affirmation of the female body, in an openly ecofeminist gesture. A way to remind that arte is a feminine word in Italian.

biography

Romina De Novellis (1982) is a performer, visual artist and researcher, born in Naples, raised in Rome and living in Paris since 2008. Trained as a dancer, she studies the body from an anthropological perspective through the prism of Mediterranean cultures.

The artist uses ecofeminist theories as a parameter to analyze and denounce the oppressive realities of our societies and the dichotomies of nature-humanity, femininity-masculinity, north-south, scientific-intuitive, power-body, establishment-counter-culture. Her intention is to highlight the reappropriation of feminine traits by women and men, in order to challenge dominant models.

Her works have been presented in many contexts, including MAC – VAL in Ivry-sur -Seine, Ca’ Pesaro International Modern and Contemporary Art in Venice, MADRE Museum in Naples, Poznan Biennial in Poland, Armory Show in New York, Villa Datris Foundation, Espace Louis Vuitton, Palais de Tokyo, Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature in Paris, among others.

In 2019, Romina De Novellis initiated an artist and researcher residency project called Domus Artist Residency, based in Galatina, Italy.

Romina De Novellis is represented by Galerie Alberta Pane – Paris/Venice.

practical information

In the exhibition rooms, free on presentation of the Jeu de Paume entrance ticket.

Performances organised at the invitation of Marta Ponsa, head of artistic projects.

fbpx

Fermé

Le Jeu de Paume – Paris est actuellement fermé. Découvrez l’exposition Renverser ses yeux. Autour de l’arte povera dès le 11 octobre.

Performance

Del maiale non si butta via niente

Performance de la série « La Cultura che Vive » par Romina De Novellis

Le 20 octobre 2022

De 11h à 19h

Jeu de Paume - Paris

L’artiste Romina De Novellis (Naples, 1982) revisite des œuvres majeures de l’arte povera dans une perspective écoféministe. Elle propose de réinterpréter et d’actualiser certains thèmes et motifs de l’arte povera, afin de repenser, en résonance avec ce courant, les relations entre les genres et entre tous les êtres vivants.

Del maiale non si butta via niente, 2022 (création) [Du cochon on ne jette rien]

En réponse à la performance de Kounellis Untitled (Twelve Live Horses), 1969 ; De Novellis s’enferme dans une cage d’élevage de truies. Le contrôle et la maîtrise de la natalité caractérisent l’élevage intensif et sa rentabilité économique, un enjeu majeur de l’industrie agro-alimentaire. Le corps des femelles est un objet à surveiller, à maintenir dans une visée productiviste. Dans la culture populaire, le sacrifice du porc est une fête populaire qui rassemble des peuples. De Novellis décide de s’enfermer habillée, telle une femme-objet, pour montrer comme nos sociétés consomment le corps des femmes ainsi que celui des animaux. Elle retrouvera sa liberté à la fin de la journée. Cette action, à la fois proche et lointaine de la performance de Kounellis, affirme une coprésence avec l’animal et, de manière plus générale, une nouvelle sensibilité envers le vivant.

La Cultura che Vive, une série de performances

L’artiste Romina De Novellis revisite des œuvres majeures de l’arte povera dans une perspective écoféministe. Elle propose de réinterpréter et d’actualiser certains thèmes et motifs de l’arte povera, afin de repenser, en résonance avec ce courant, les relations entre les genres et entre tous les êtres vivants.  Ainsi, le consumérisme, les inégalités, le poids du passé et la résistance des êtres vivants sont autant de préoccupations palpables dans ses performances où le corps de l’artiste femme entre en jeu. Ce faisant, Romina De Novellis imagine une série d’actions en résonance avec l’attitude militante et l’utilisation de matériaux simples de l’arte povera.

La preuve avec ce titre en forme d’hommage à l’artiste et écrivaine italienne Ketty La Rocca, inspiré de son collage, La cultura che non vive, réalisé en 1964. Les actions de Romina De Novellis réinvestissent certaines attitudes de l’arte povera, avec une affirmation du corps féminin, dans un geste ouvertement écoféministe. Une manière de rappeler que arte est un mot féminin en italien.

biographie

Romina De Novellis (1982) est une performeuse, artiste visuelle et chercheuse, née à Naples, ayant grandi à Rome et résidant à Paris depuis 2008. Avec une formation de danseuse, elle étudie le corps d’un point de vue anthropologique à travers le prisme des cultures méditerranéennes.

L’artiste utilise les théories écoféministes comme paramètre pour analyser et dénoncer les réalités oppressives de nos sociétés et les dichotomies nature-humanité, féminité-masculinité, nord-sud, scientifique-intuitif, pouvoir-corps, establishment- contre-culture. Son intention est de mettre en évidence la réappropriation des traits féminins par les femmes et les hommes, afin de remettre en question les modèles dominants.

Ses œuvres ont été présentées dans de nombreux contextes, dont le MAC – VAL à Ivry-sur -Seine, la Ca’ Pesaro International internationale d’art moderne et contemporain à Venise, le musée MADRE à Naples, la Biennale de Poznan en Pologne, l’Armory Show à New York, la Fondation Villa Datris, l’Espace Louis Vuitton, le Palais de Tokyo, le Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature à Paris, entre autres.

En 2019, Romina De Novellis a initié un projet de résidence d’artistes et chercheurs appelé Domus Artist Residency, basé à Galatina, en Italie.

Romina De Novellis est représentée par la Galerie Alberta Pane – Paris/Venise.

infos pratiques

Dans les salles de l’exposition, gratuit sur présentation du billet d’entrée au Jeu de Paume.

Performances organisées sur une invitation de Marta Ponsa, responsable des projets artistiques.